Nhom Men-Sauv Jojet Chjoom Reap Leah Tei (I Don’t Really Like Goodbyes)

I’m coming into my final week here in Poipet now, and goodbyes are starting to set themselves into regular conversation wherever I go.

Cate and Makara visited MMF Pre-School to give out monthly prizes for the final time, and the children gave them these beautiful hearts with pictures and messages on them. They are now displayed in our dining room.

Cate and Makara visited MMF Pre-School to give out monthly prizes for the final time, and the children gave them these beautiful hearts with pictures and messages on them. They are now displayed in our dining room.

I’ve truly enjoyed living here in Poipet for this time, and part of me has struggled with being here for such a short stint. I’ve been reflecting on the things that happened in the lead-up to me coming here to Cambodia, though, and it’s clear to see that God has been using my circumstances to make sure everything falls exactly into place with his timing.

Games at MMF Happy Home

Games at MMF Happy Home

Art Activities at MMF Happy Home

Art Activities at MMF Happy Home

Games at MMF Happy Home

Games at MMF Happy Home

I leave on the weekend after CCFC’s work “officially” finishes here in Cambodia (officially, I fly out on the 8th September). On Saturday we had a celebration dinner to say goodbye to all the friends and colleagues that CCFC staff have shared their lives with over the past few years. I am fortunate enough to know quite a few of the people invited, and for me it was also a sad goodbye too, despite having only known most of these people for only a very short time.

DSC_6869_Watermarked DSC_6875_Watermarked DSC_6906_Watermarked DSC_6928_Watermarked DSC_6930_Watermarked DSC_6958_Watermarked

This week we will be busy with packing up the office and moving furniture in all different places – some desks and furniture will go to another NGO called SALT (who will be taking over a lot of CCFC’s sports ministries here), other furniture and household items will go to some other expat families, and still more furniture and other items will go to our CCFC staff, if they see a need.

Games at the Drug Detention Centre

Games at the Drug Detention Centre

DDC

I’m finding myself thinking that if I had come earlier my year would have been drastically different (better, even?) but it’s also clear that God had his own very clear plans in mind and part of my coming here was surrendering to those plans. There wasn’t much chance of me being able to come earlier, and external circumstances have prevented me from coming later or staying longer. This was all very much predetermined timing.

Art activities at the Drug Detention Centre

Art activities at the Drug Detention Centre

DSC_6744_Watermarked

Card Making at the Drug Detention Centre

Card Making at the Drug Detention Centre

A lot of the children, young people and staff that I’ve been working with have been asking me if I will come back, or “when” I will come back. As much as I’ve been praying about this for a few weeks and asking God for a direction, nothing has been crystal clear to me yet and, along with the push-and-pull of wishing I could prolong this beautiful experience of living here in Cambodia (which is to be expected at the end of a time when I’ve built relationships with the country and the people I’ve met), I’m not yet sure what path has been illuminated to me as the one that I need to be taking next, and I believe it will be a number of weeks or months before I can really tell the difference between what my head is saying and what my Spirit is saying. Part of what I’m learning is that it’s okay not to know yet.

Cate reads a thank-you card made by one of the men at  the DDC, addressed to CCFC.

Cate reads a thank-you card made by one of the men at the DDC, addressed to CCFC.

In the meantime, I’ve chosen to continue learning Khmer right up until the day before I leave Poipet. My father has always told me that every experience in life is an opportunity to learn, and although I would’ve continued to learn even if I didn’t continue tutoring, I truly have enjoyed learning a new language, deciphering a secret code that allows me to communicate with a whole world of new people (and even get much cheaper prices when haggling in the market).

Teaching the children at ABC School about Australian Animals

Teaching the children at ABC School about Australian Animals

DSC_6844_Watermarked_S

Two of my suhs chi'laht (clever students)

Two of my suhs chi’laht (clever students)

Playing hangman

Playing hangman together

Thank you for praying for me. This week please pray that I will have a clear mind to be able to hear God’s voice, and the presence of mind to work well until the end of my stay here! To those from my church family, I will see you soon. You are all very precious to me and I thank you again for your wonderful support.

Som Preah-un prohtien pboh (May God bless you)

‘Leesh

This entry was posted in Photography, Praise Points, Prayer Points, Reflection and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nhom Men-Sauv Jojet Chjoom Reap Leah Tei (I Don’t Really Like Goodbyes)

  1. Can’t wait to see you back here, but sad that you have to leave?!? Thanks so much for keeping us up to date with the winding up process of CCFC – great to see pics of all the staff (make sure you get a good one of Cate before you leave – I can only see her back in these photos!) and what a great one of Pip and Pern!
    See you soon luvvie! Safe journey!
    D

    • eleshia123 says:

      Hey Donna, thanks for the comment and encouragement! Yeah I was aware I didn’t get to upload a good shot of Cate; she looked beautiful, and I did get some photos of her, but she was with a child in the photos and I’ve been asked to be careful about how I publish photos of people under 18 years old. I believe Pip may have published some shots I took of Cate in the CCFC Dinner album on Facebook if you wish to have a look there. It was probably alright to publish after all, but I didn’t want to take my chances and violate the child protection stuff I signed when I first came here! Better safe than sorry.

      See you SOON! I am rather sad to be leaving 😥

  2. Beryl Kirkwood says:

    Dear Leissia,

    May these last days be precious and as you wait on God may he make His plan for you in the future clear. You have remarkable gifts and a passion to share Jesus and I’m sure God has a special place for you to serve Him. Sometimes He wants us to step out in trust and leave the results to Him.

    I pray that you will have a safe trip back and that your passion will not fade as you adjust to Aussie life again.

    With love and prayer,

    Beryl

    • eleshia123 says:

      Thank you for your faithful prayers Beryl, and for your very specific and insightful encouragement. It is so wonderful to have a fellow traveller encouraging me along the way.
      Pip mentioned last night at the dinner table a rather thought-provoking quote from a book she had been reading – “People forget that God is the greatest evangelist.” How true that is. I can be broken and seemingly useless, but I must remember that it is not me who advances the Kingdom, but God working through me. I just have to be willing.
      Now it’s time to wait and see what that will look like once I return to Australia! Open a door, Lord!

Leave a Reply

